Hagan and Richburg honored

Posted on October 09, 2020

Senator Kay Hagan
Dr. Antonia Monk Richburg

Update: See Oct. 2021 story on the awards ceremony.

UNCG’s Distinguished Service Awards represent the most prestigious public service honors conferred by the University.

Named for UNCG’s founding president, the Charles Duncan McIver Award is the University’s highest public service honor and recognizes extraordinary service at the national or international level. The Holderness/Weaver Award is named for Adelaide Holderness ’39, the first woman to serve on its Board of Trustees, and H. Michael Weaver, a longtime UNCG supporter who has served the University in many capacities.

The award recognizes exceptional service at the state and local level.

The late Honorable Kay Hagan will receive the Charles Duncan McIver Award. She served as United States senator from 2009 to 2015 and as NC state senator from 1998 to 2009. At UNCG she served on the Friends of the
Library Advisory Board and the Excellence Foundation Board of Directors. Throughout her career, Senator Hagan advocated for the state of North Carolina and its citizens with dignity and determination. “Service” is our
University motto, and Senator Hagan embodied distinguished service to the community, state, and nation. She was a devoted, inspirational woman whose life touched so many.

Dr. Antonia Monk Richburg ’87, ’00 MPA will receive the Holderness/Weaver Award. She serves as vice president and senior program officer for the Cone Health Foundation, as well as chair of the Greensboro Housing Coalition Board of Directors and vice chair of the North Carolina Network of Grantmakers. She is also a member of the United Way of Greater Greensboro Board of Directors. Her outstanding career and community work as an advocate for access to health care and support services for the disenfranchised align with the mission of both our University and the namesakes of this award.

“Both of our honorees set the standard for selfless service in our community, our state, and our nation,” says Betsy Suitt Oakley ’69, chair of UNCG Board of Trustees.

A formal award presentation ceremony is planned for Spring 2021.

By Christine Garton

What's Trending